A very late, power outage, “I’ll takeover from here” post

Hi everyone (whoever you are ;))

I realize this post is almost a week late, I was a little disorganized at the end of the school visit day last week and haven’t managed to pull up my socks again till today. Yikes!

So, as the title of this post suggests, we had ANOTHER power outage this week! On a Wednesday! What the heck are the chances! The kiddies were thrilled, of course, hoping that they’d get another excessively long DPA out of it, but that wasn’t the case. Because we were well into our day (happened after lunch) the mechanical blinds were open and we had more than enough light to continue with silent reading and then proceed to gym. 28 9 and 10 year olds in a dark gym. I know, frightening!! Luckily, the gym teacher had decided to open the doors and voila, enough light. Unfortunately, because it is winter here, that also meant heavy sweaters and/or jackets in gym. Luckily (again) we had the Canadian Curling Association visit us and taught the kids how to curl, so there was no physical contact in less than ideal lighting.

After we came back from gym, I was informed, to my surprise, that my teacher Ms. C had an IEP (Individualized Education Program) meeting and we were going to have a TOC for the remaining 45 minutes of the day. This was mildly exciting to me, as I figured it’d be a great opportunity to take control and spread my wings a bit without the pressure of having my sponsor teacher there! Well, I did, and I’m not sure how successful it was, but we made it through the rest of the day and I learned some important tips that I will carry with me forever:

1. Using the same attention grabbers (clapping patterns or cute sayings {i.e. hands on top, that means stop}) as your sponsor teacher does NOT get the same response from the kids. The ‘good’ students will be there right along with you, but the outliers will eat you up! I definitely had some trouble reigning everybody in once the volume got too loud, but overall they were peaches 🙂

2. NEVER EVER hand out notices before the end of class! Questions will follow as will rifling through said handouts and no work with get done. Just don’t do it.

Anyways, I think I covered everything I set out to cover. All in all it was a very educational day for me 🙂

Chat soon,

~Miss Parfitt

Leave a Reply

