Overdue!

It’s been a long time since I have posted! It stresses me out to even think about catching up on the hundreds 3 posts I’ve missed, so instead I’m just going to blog about this past Wednesday, as if I hadn’t missed a beat!

A little recap of the past four weeks would simply include many University assignments, sprinkled with the precious little time I actually get to spend in a real classroom!!

This week, we began our day with Ms. C leaving the room and me starting off the day by letting the kiddos in, and taking them through their morning routine. They were excited to see me at the door and quickly asked if I was their sub for the day! I had to say no, that I’m not (technically) allowed to be alone with them for any length of time, and that I would just be “in charge” for the morning portion. After they breezed through their mad minute, I took a poll as to what they’d like to do to fill time until Ms. C came back and the consensus was unanimous, silent ball it was! We had fun and when Ms. C returned, they were ready for the day. 

I set up the Valentines Day bulletin board after removing their Snowmen at Night art and we moseyed on through our morning. 

After lunch, we went to the library to pick up/exchange books and when we got back to the classroom, I was able to spend about 15 minutes reading “Conspiracy 365” which they loveso I had their rapt attention the entire time!

At the end of the day, after everyone had gone home, Ms. C and I finished putting some final touches on a couple V-Day projects to get prepared for the next day, and then I was off!

Yesterday I attended my very first Professional Day which was a blast! I really enjoyed the session we chose and found it very informative. It was also a lot of fun to be around other teachers and hear their stories. It’s amazing how much “teacher types” have in common! 🙂

Overall it’s been a great week. We’re now coming up on our reading week where we’re supposed to catch up on our assignments for our program so I’ll be spending that time doing some homework! 

Luckily, I have my next school visit to look forward to 🙂

Chat soon,

~Miss Parfitt

Leave a Reply

