New Classroom Management

Today, I introduced a new kind of classroom management that, thank heavens, the students loved!! The new program is called Class Dojo – you can check it out here. It’s an online way to keep track of students behaviour in real time. It also gives you the option to see how that student has done that day, that week, that month, or since starting the program. The students were captivated by the Avatars they were each assigned and even our CEA was thrilled with the new set-up. I am so thankful that everyone likes it, and can’t WAIT to start implementing it tomorrow!

I also taught my second lesson today 🙂 It was a hit, which I was thrilled about, and my sponsor teacher had lots of fabulous feedback for me to improve my performance next time. Turns out I need to incorporate more visuals so their brains can really latch on to something they see, and I also need to be aware of how the rest of my room is doing. I am noticing that I tend to get sucked in to my lesson, and although the kids and I are constantly interacting, I don’t seem to see the whole picture, and some kiddos at the back are getting away with things they shouldn’t!

I was talking to Ms. C yesterday about how lucky I feel to be in a classroom with a (almost full time) CEA. Having 3 adults in the room is fantastic and really helps with monitoring behaviour!

Well, that’s all for now, hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday 🙂

Chat soon,

~Miss Parfitt

Leave a Reply

