Really getting into this teaching thing

Today, I had a bit of an epiphany. For whatever reason, I started to feel like a ‘real’ teacher today. I have found myself slowly moving away from structured lesson plans. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve known all along that things can go sideways fast in the classroom. But I feel as though I am more comfortable being a go with the flow type person. This experience has leant that to me. 

I no longer need a hard copy lesson plan in front of me to run the show; I know in my head what I want my kiddos to learn – where we started, where we are and where we’re going – and I can make that happen in a lesson without first typing it all out. It’s an amazing feeling. 

It’s our last week as first year ETEP students, hard to believe. I feel very lucky that I won’t be going back to work right away, so I will have time to go back next week and hang out with my kiddos, without the pressure of observations or evaluations! It’ll also be nice to watch Ms. C teach again, and absorb every little bit I can from her.

Here’s to our last week!

Chat soon,

~Miss Parfitt

Leave a Reply

